Monetary Policy Review: Key extracts - Views on News from Equitymaster

Helping You Build Wealth With Honest Research
Since 1996. Try Now

  • MyStocks

MEMBER'S LOGINX

     
Login Failure
   
     
   
     
 
 
 
(Please do not use this option on a public machine)
 
     
 
 
 
  Sign Up | Forgot Password?  

Monetary Policy Review: Key extracts

Jul 31, 2007

The salient features of the first quarter review of the Annual Statement on Monetary Policy for the year FY08 by the Reserve Bank of India's (RBI) are:

  1. The Cash Reserve Ratio (CRR) has been raised from 6.5% to 7% with effect from the fortnight beginning August 4, 2007.

  2. The RBI has withdrawn the ceiling of Rs 30 bn on its daily reverse repo market, hoping to stabilise the volatility in the overnight markets

  3. The Reserve Money growth of 29% YoY as compared to 17.2% in July 2006, has been primarily fuelled by an increase in the RBI's holding of net foreign currency assets (Rs 749 bn increase over March 2007) and net RBI credit to the government by Rs 189 bn (compared to a decline of Rs 64 bn in July 2006). That is to say, both monetary as well as fiscal policies have been expansionary.

  4. The main contributors to the foreign exchange inflows in the four months since March 2007 have been External Commercial Borrowings (US$ 8.7 bn as compared to US$ 4.4 bn in 2006), followed by net Foreign Institutional Investors (FIIs) investments (US$ 8.4 bn compared to US$ 2 bn of outflow in 2006), and FDI inflows of US$ 1.6 bn as compared to US$ 0.7 bn in 2006). NRIs have actually taken money out of bank deposits from India.

  5. Economic growth trend seems to be continuing though business optimism index scored lower levels in the first quarter of FY08. Agricultural production will depend on the monsoons that have been 93% of the normal as yet in 29 of the 35 meteorological divisions. However, area sown under kharif crops is lower than what it was a year ago except for cotton and oilseeds.

For more details on the monetary policy review, please do read our detailed analysis that will be up-linked tomorrow.

Equitymaster requests your view! Post a comment on "Monetary Policy Review: Key extracts". Click here!

  

More Views on News

Ride the Indian Real Estate Revival with this 'Different' Smallcap Stock (Profit Hunter)

Mar 23, 2021

Affordability in the housing segment has never been so good in last one and a half decade. Here's how you could make the most of it...

My Latest Stock Recommendation (Fast Profits Daily)

Oct 9, 2020

How I picked an exciting stock using trends from both the commodity and equity markets.

Data is the New Oil but It's Also the New Sugar. Here's How to Fight it (Profit Hunter)

Jun 1, 2020

Is too much data hurting your quest for market beating returns?

Quantum Mutual Fund: Hum woh nahi hain (The Honest Truth)

Apr 29, 2020

Ajit Dayal on how the mutual fund industry robs you of your wealth.

This One Trigger Could Turnaround Yes Bank's Stock Price (The 5 Minute Wrapup)

Oct 16, 2019

If Yes Bank manages to do this, it could be the start of a much-needed turnaround for the bank.

More Views on News

Most Popular

Hotel Stocks Will Reward Investors (Fast Profits Daily)

Jun 8, 2021

This is why I'm bullish on the hotel and hospitality sector.

My 'Unlock' Investments (Fast Profits Daily)

Jun 11, 2021

The best unlock investments you can make in the market.

How I Discovered a 400-Year-Old Open Secret to Extreme Wealth (Profit Hunter)

Jun 11, 2021

Charlie Munger's open secret about investing success.

The Most Visible Sign of India's Revival is on Two Wheels (Profit Hunter)

Jun 9, 2021

Investing in the best stocks could result in wealth compounding on a massive scale.

More

India's #1 Trader
Reveals His Secrets

Secret To Increasing Your Trading Profits Today
Get this Special Report,
The Secret to Increasing Your Trading Profits Today, Now!
We will never sell or rent your email id.
Please read our Terms

MARKET STATS