X

Sign up for Equitymaster's free daily newsletter, The 5 Minute WrapUp and get access to our latest Multibagger guide (2019 Edition) on picking money-making stocks.

This is an entirely free service. No payments are to be made.


Download Now Subscribe to our free daily e-letter, The 5 Minute WrapUp and get this complimentary report.
We hate spam as much as you do. Check out our Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.
Capital goods: June quarter review - Views on News from Equitymaster

Helping You Build Wealth With Honest Research
Since 1996. Try Now

  • MyStocks

MEMBER'S LOGINX

     
Login Failure
   
     
   
     
 
 
 
(Please do not use this option on a public machine)
 
     
 
 
 
  Sign Up | Forgot Password?  

Capital goods: June quarter review

Aug 12, 2008

Rising commodity prices and continuous news flows of a worldwide economic slowdown had brought a sense of caution and pessimism amongst investors in the past few months. As such, the capital goods sector, being highly dependent on the investment cycle, was at the receiving end. The BSE-Capital Goods Index is in fact one of the worst hit sectoral indices in the year till date. However, strong quarterly results by leading companies from the sector have helped in curbing the negative sentiments to a certain extent. We have consolidated and compared the June quarter results of thirteen capital goods sector companies. Fortunately, for these companies, it's the strong order backlog that has helped them sustain strong growth during the quarter. The topline for this consolidated group has increased by a respectable 38% YoY. We believe that this same element will be the growth driver for this sector going forward as there is a handful of companies whose order backlog exceeds their FY08 revenues in excess of two to three times.

Performance* of capital goods companies
(Rs m) Apr-Jun 2007 Apr-Jun 2008 Change%
Sales 176,136 242,751 37.8%
Expenditure 160,229 217,076 35.5%
Operating profit (EBDITA) 15,907 25,675 61.4%
Operating profit margin (%) 9.0% 10.6%
Other income 5,898 7,134 21.0%
Depreciation 2,879 3,797 31.9%
Interest 1,637 2,221 35.7%
Profit before tax (PBT) 17,289 26,791 55.0%
PBT margin (%) 9.8% 11.0%
Extraordinary income/(expense) 303 (1,341)
Tax 5,666 8,701 53.6%
Minority interest (15) (406)
Share of profit & loss of associates 11 25
Profit after tax/(loss) 11,922 16,368 37.3%
Net profit margin (%) 6.8% 6.7%
* Consolidated results for BHEL, Blue Star, Crompton Greaves, Cummins, LMW, L&T, Praj Industries,
Punj Lloyd, Siemens, Suzlon, TRF, Thermax and Voltas

Coming to the operating margins, the same witnessed a 1.6% YoY expansion during the quarter. Contract mechanisms such as price variation clauses and hedging of raw materials have helped companies pare pressure on account of rise in material costs off their margins. However, there were select companies (the smaller sized firms) that were negatively impacted by the rise in input costs.

  • Also read - Capital goods: Do rising material costs hurt?

    On the bottomline front, the consolidated numbers are up 37% YoY. During the quarter, some companies were impacted by forex and derivative losses (extraordinary items). If we exclude the same, the profits have grown by a strong 52% YoY. Further, other key cost heads such as interest and depreciation have remained flat at 1.6% and 0.9% respectively of sales as compared to the corresponding quarter in the previous year.

    What to expect?
    Overall, the capital goods sector recorded a strong performance during the June quarter. Furthermore, while execution challenges will remain, we expect companies to benefit from increased infrastructure spending in the country over the next 3 to 5 years. Though a slowdown in decision-making and delays in investments can affect performance in the short to medium term, the fact that India needs good quality infrastructure to sustain growth at high levels remains.


  • Equitymaster requests your view! Post a comment on "Capital goods: June quarter review". Click here!

      

    More Views on News

    BLUE STAR Plunges by 5%; BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index Up 0.3% (Market Updates)

    Jun 24, 2019 | Updated on Jun 24, 2019

    BLUE STAR share price has plunged by 5% and its current market price is Rs 791. The BSE CAPITAL GOODS is up by 0.3%. The top gainers in the BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index are SUZLON ENERGY (up 9.7%) and NBCC (INDIA) LTD (up 5.5%). The top losers is BLUE STAR (down 5.1%).

    JAIN IRRIGATION Surges by 11%; BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index Up 0.3% (Market Updates)

    Jun 24, 2019 | Updated on Jun 24, 2019

    JAIN IRRIGATION share price has surged by 11% and its current market price is Rs 28. The BSE CAPITAL GOODS is up by 0.3%. The top gainers in the BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index are JAIN IRRIGATION (up 10.7%) and SUZLON ENERGY (up 13.0%). The top losers are HAVELLS IND (down 0.1%) and GRAPHITE INDIA (down 0.1%).

    JAIN IRRIGATION Surges by 5%; BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index Up 0.1% (Market Updates)

    Jun 24, 2019 | Updated on Jun 24, 2019

    JAIN IRRIGATION share price has surged by 5% and its current market price is Rs 27. The BSE CAPITAL GOODS is up by 0.1%. The top gainers in the BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index are JAIN IRRIGATION (up 5.2%) and SUZLON ENERGY (up 10.3%). The top losers are HAVELLS IND and GRAPHITE INDIA (down 0.1%).

    CG POWER & INDUSTRIAL Surges by 7%; BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index Up 0.2% (Market Updates)

    Jun 24, 2019 | Updated on Jun 24, 2019

    CG POWER & INDUSTRIAL share price has surged by 7% and its current market price is Rs 31. The BSE CAPITAL GOODS is up by 0.2%. The top gainers in the BSE CAPITAL GOODS Index are CG POWER & INDUSTRIAL (up 7.1%) and SUZLON ENERGY (up 8.6%). The top losers are SKF INDIA (down 0.1%) and FINOLEX CABLES (down 0.2%).

    Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers Ltd: Is This PSU Shipbuilder Worth Betting On? (IPO)

    Sep 24, 2018

    Should you apply for the IPO of Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers Ltd?

    More Views on News

    Most Popular

    7 Stocks That Will Remain Evergreen in this Era of Technological Disruption(The 5 Minute Wrapup)

    Jun 13, 2019

    We are living in an era of disruption. Are your stocks well equipped to adapt to changes that disruption will bring along?

    The Great Indian NBFC Bubble Has Burst but I Will Still Recommend These Safe NBFCs(The 5 Minute Wrapup)

    Jun 11, 2019

    One chart that predicted the NBFC crisis back in 2016.

    Kenneth Andrade Would Like Our Real Estate Stock Recommendation with Triple Digit Upside(The 5 Minute Wrapup)

    Jun 12, 2019

    This real estate stock recommended in Smart Money Secrets offers the most favourable upside potential.

    Why I Believe Smallcaps Will Catch up to the Sensex(Profit Hunter)

    Jun 14, 2019

    Smallcaps have gone nowhere even as the Sensex makes new all-time highs. Find out why Richa believes this a good opportunity to invest in smallcaps.

    7 Bluechips to Profit from Tech Disruption(Profit Hunter)

    Jun 17, 2019

    We are living in an era of disruption. Are your stocks well equipped to adapt to changes that disruption will bring along?

    More

    Get the Indian Stock Market's
    Most Profitable Ideas

    How To Beat Sensex Guide 2019
    Get our special report, How to Beat Sensex Nearly 3X Now!
    We will never sell or rent your email id.
    Please read our Terms

    S&P BSE CAPITAL GOODS


    Jun 24, 2019 (Close)

    S&P BSE CAPITAL GOODS 5-YR ANALYSIS

    COMPARE COMPANY

    MARKET STATS