Auto: 4QFY03 in review - Views on News from Equitymaster

Helping You Build Wealth With Honest Research
Since 1996. Try Now

  • MyStocks

MEMBER'S LOGINX

     
Login Failure
   
     
   
     
 
 
 
(Please do not use this option on a public machine)
 
     
 
 
 
  Sign Up | Forgot Password?  

Auto: 4QFY03 in review

Mar 27, 2003

The performance of auto stocks on the bourses over the last three months has been lacklustre. The key cause of concern is weakening volumes in light of poor agricultural and industrial sector. We take a look at the recent performance of the various segments in the auto sector and expectations for the forthcoming quarter.

CV led growth...
(% YoY change) Sep-02 Oct-02 Nov-02 Dec-02 Jan-03 Feb-03
Passenger car 9.2% 15.4% -0.3% -3.3% 2.2% -24.7%
UVs 14.1% 14.9% 0.6% 9.0% 32.1% 27.3%
LCV 15.5% 23.1% -3.4% 8.8% 13.8% 10.4%
Buses & trucks 13.5% 23.8% 12.5% 41.6% 20.2% 53.5%
Total 10.7% 16.8% 0.9% 4.4% 8.6% -8.2%

As evident from the table above that reflects the year-on-year growth in monthly volumes for each of the category, commercial vehicle sales continue to remain robust. The sector saw a reversal in demand in September 2001 and from then on, it has been an northbound demand trend. The growth, as we mentioned in our previous articles, is largely led by higher growth in industrial sector and continuation in demand for higher tonnage vehicles (as against 42% of total HCV sales in FY02, we expect contribution from CVs greater than 16 tonnes at around 56% in FY03). For the first eleven months of the current fiscal year, buses & trucks unit sales have increased by 20% to 90,669 units. Since passenger bus demand has been lacklustre in FY03 due to the dismal state of state transport undertakings, growth was largely led by the H/MCVs.

There has been a sharp rise in utility vehicle (UV) sales in January and February 2003, which is on account of higher volume sales of 'Scorpio' and the new 'Qualis'. Just to put things in perspective, M&M and Toyota have posted a 26% and 92% YoY growth in UV sales in February 2003 (37% and 133% in January 2003). With Maruti posting a 27% decline in passenger car sales in February 2003, the sector numbers were also skewed, which is reflected in the table above (55% market share). The performance of the tractor and two-wheeler segments also is nothing to write home about.

Given this backdrop, the fourth quarter performance of auto majors like Punjab Tractors, M&M and Hero Honda is likely to remain subdued on the back of weaker revenue growth. Telco is expected to post a sharp rise in both sales and profits in the fourth quarter riding on the back of impressive CV volume growth (has ranged around 25% in the last two quarters).


Equitymaster requests your view! Post a comment on "Auto: 4QFY03 in review". Click here!

  

More Views on News

FORCE MOTORS Share Price Up by 6%; BSE AUTO Index Up 2.7% (Market Updates)

Sep 28, 2020 | Updated on Sep 28, 2020

FORCE MOTORS share price is trading up by 6% and its current market price is Rs 1,110. The BSE AUTO is up by 2.7%. The top gainers in the BSE AUTO Index are FORCE MOTORS (up 6.0%) and BALKRISHNA INDUSTRIES (up 8.6%).

TATA MOTORS Share Price Up by 5%; BSE AUTO Index Up 2.5% (Market Updates)

Sep 28, 2020 | Updated on Sep 28, 2020

TATA MOTORS share price is trading up by 5% and its current market price is Rs 134. The BSE AUTO is up by 2.5%. The top gainers in the BSE AUTO Index are TATA MOTORS (up 5.1%) and BALKRISHNA INDUSTRIES (up 5.9%).

ESCORTS LIMITED at All Time High; BSE AUTO Index Up 2.4% (Market Updates)

Sep 28, 2020 | Updated on Sep 28, 2020

ESCORTS LIMITED share price has hit an all time high at Rs 1,298 (up 6.8%). The BSE AUTO Index is up by 2.4%. Among the top gainers in the BSE AUTO Index today are ESCORTS LIMITED (up 6.8%) and MRF LTD. (up 2.6%).

More Views on News

Most Popular

Why We Picked This Small-cap Stock for Our Hidden Treasure Subscribers (Profit Hunter)

Sep 17, 2020

This leading household brand will profit big time in a post covid world.

My Top Stock to Buy in this Market Selloff (Profit Hunter)

Sep 22, 2020

The recent correction offers a great opportunity to buy this high conviction smallcap stock.

Can the Nifty Fall to 10,200? (Fast Profits Daily)

Sep 24, 2020

The Nifty has reached an important support level today. If it breaks then we could see further downside.

What Do the Charts Say About Buying Smallcaps Now? (Fast Profits Daily)

Sep 18, 2020

Everyone seems to be excited about buying smallcaps now...but is it the right thing to do? What do the charts tell us? Find out in this video...

More

Covid-19 Proof
Multibagger Stocks

Covid19 Proof Multibaggers
Get this special report, authored by Equitymaster's top analysts now!
We will never sell or rent your email id.
Please read our Terms

S&P BSE AUTO


Sep 28, 2020 (Close)

COMPARE COMPANY

MARKET STATS