Mid-term review: Key excerpts - Views on News from Equitymaster

Helping You Build Wealth With Honest Research
Since 1996. Try Now

  • MyStocks

MEMBER'S LOGINX

     
Login Failure
   
     
   
     
 
 
 
(Please do not use this option on a public machine)
 
     
 
 
 
  Sign Up | Forgot Password?  

Mid-term review: Key excerpts

Dec 16, 2004

The mid-term economic review of the Indian economy was released on Monday. Here the key aspects of the review for our visitors.

  1. Agriculture: Cumulative rainfall for the country as a whole was 13% below normal level till September 2004. The northwest and south peninsular monsoons have seen a much larger deviation than the national average at -22% and -15% respectively. On the back of this, the agricultural output is likely to be affected for 2QFY05 and 3QFY05. However, expectations of a good Rabi crop (the second half harvest) could partially offset the decline in kharif output.

  2. Industry: The average annual growth rate of the index of industrial production (IIP) was 7.9% (April-September 2004) as compared to 6.2% in the same period last year. What is encouraging is a 14.5% rise in capital goods sector, which clearly highlights the underlying strength of the manufacturing sector. Capital goods output and capital good imports are typically the lead indicators of economic recovery. Non-POL imports (excluding petroleum related product imports) were higher by 25.8% in the first half.

  3. Inflation: Besides the increase in prices of crude oil and petroleum products, rise in prices of metals also resulted in the wholesale price index touching 8.7% in August 2004. Despite the reduction in customs duty on petro-products and other key commodities, inflation has remained over the 7% levels. However, at the consumer price index level, inflation stood at 4.8% in September 2004. The RBI, in its mid-term review, has raised inflation target to 6.5% for FY05.

  4. Credit demand: Growth of bank credit (year-on-year basis) to the commercial sector was 22.1% as on November 12, 2004 compared to a growth of 11.0% on the corresponding date last year. Non-food credit increased by 14.5% (7.0 % in the same period last year). The increase in demand for money from corporates could be attributed to the rise in industrial production and augmenting funds for future expansion.

    Itís a mixed bagÖ
    (Rs bn)Budgeted estimate (BE)Apr-Sep'04Actual % of BE
    Corporate tax 884 203 23.0%
    Excise duties 1,092 366 33.5%
    Services tax 142 49 34.6%
    Total 2,118 619 29.2%
    Customs duties 543 252 46.5%
    Income tax 509 252 49.4%
    Other tax 8 6 78.7%

  5. Fiscal side: As far as the government collection goes, the table above highlights the budgeted estimates, the actual receipts from various taxes till 1HFY04 and the receipts as a percentage of budgeted estimates. While customs duty collection till 1HFY04 seems to be well on line with the budgeted estimates at 47%, the reduction in customs duty on petroleum products and other commodities like palm oil is likely to weigh on collections in the second half of the fiscal year. Besides, higher crude prices will increase government expenditure and the fiscal deficit target is likely to be overshot. As per the mid-term review "the trade deficit, which has been rising since 2000-01, is likely to be surpassed in the current fiscal."

What to expect?

On a balance scale, prospects for the Indian economy continue to remain promising. Though factors like increase in interest rates in the global economy, higher demand for credit in the domestic market and higher fiscal deficit are likely to put an upward pressure on interest rates, the same are likely to be lower as compared to the last ten years' average. This is cushion for the Indian economy. Having said that, the need for increased public-private participation in the areas of health, agriculture and education cannot be underestimated and it is high time the government initiates measures on the agricultural sector, which has been neglected for so long now!


Equitymaster requests your view! Post a comment on "Mid-term review: Key excerpts". Click here!

  

More Views on News

Your Queries on the 8-Year Cycle Answered (Fast Profits Daily)

Sep 25, 2020

You've sent in your queries on my videos on the 8-year greed and fear cycle in the market. I'll answer them in this video.

It's When You Sell that Counts (Profit Hunter)

Sep 25, 2020

How I alerted readers to the impending crash last week.

Can the Nifty Fall to 10,200? (Fast Profits Daily)

Sep 24, 2020

The Nifty has reached an important support level today. If it breaks then we could see further downside.

How to Save Money by Exiting Stocks Before They Fall podcast (Views On News)

Sep 24, 2020

A penny saved is a penny earned. It doesn't matter where you enter. All that matter is where you exit. Watch this video to identify an opportune time to exit your investments and book profits.

ICICI Prudential ESG Fund: Aims for Sustainability (Outside View)

Sep 24, 2020

PersonalFN briefly explains the newly launched fund : ICICI Prudential ESG Fund.

More Views on News

Most Popular

Why We Picked This Small-cap Stock for Our Hidden Treasure Subscribers (Profit Hunter)

Sep 17, 2020

This leading household brand will profit big time in a post covid world.

My Top Stock to Buy in this Market Selloff (Profit Hunter)

Sep 22, 2020

The recent correction offers a great opportunity to buy this high conviction smallcap stock.

What Do the Charts Say About Buying Smallcaps Now? (Fast Profits Daily)

Sep 18, 2020

Everyone seems to be excited about buying smallcaps now...but is it the right thing to do? What do the charts tell us? Find out in this video...

How Much Money Do You Need to Be a Professional Trader? (Fast Profits Daily)

Sep 17, 2020

In this video I'll answer a question I get asked often: How much capital do I really need to trade the markets for a living? Let's find out...

More

Covid-19 Proof
Multibagger Stocks

Covid19 Proof Multibaggers
Get this special report, authored by Equitymaster's top analysts now!
We will never sell or rent your email id.
Please read our Terms

S&P BSE SENSEX


Sep 25, 2020 (Close)

MARKET STATS